It’s the Busy Season!!


A few days ago, I wrote about an online assessment system that I am working on.  The project will involve us creating a statewide system to assess the efficacy of economics education in the state of Arkansas.  That project is moving along very well and I am in the process of writing up the stored procedures for our SQL database that will randomly generate exams, store student results, and many other functions.

I am, however, working on some other things that may be of interest to you all.  One project in particular is a Windows 7 Mobile app for use in healthcare settings.  The application will help medical residents recall a patented rib fracture treatment protocol.  As with all Windows 7 Phone apps, I will be coding it out in C# and then releasing it in a beta version to be tested by the residents physicians at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences.  The RTM version will then be posted up to the Windows Mobile Marketplace.

Another item of interest is the work that I am doing as a part of a grant obtained by the Arkansas Small Business and Technology Center. This project involves the analysis and design of a system to help facilitate the transfer of innovative technologies from the laboratories of UALR to those organizations that will eventually purchase licensing rights to the patent of the technology to commercialize them. You can read the press release here.

Finally, there is also the work that I am involved with that is being done by my Imagine Cup team.  I don’t want to “spill the beans” on this project but it will involve the use of Windows 7 Mobile, Microsoft Azure, and Microsoft Dallas.  for those of you that arent familiar with Dallas, it is Microsoft’s information marketplace. Although I won’t be doing the work on this project, I will still have to be knowledgeable on the technologies in order to fulfill my duties as mentor.

Well, with all that plus my teaching and research duties, you can see why I call this busy season! And I bet you all thought that being a college professor was sitting in a classroom all day!  🙂  Well, it’s time to get back to work!

Leave a Reply

